Upgrade to pro and remove ads

Oxford Annual Contest (Section C)

Sat 24 Sep 1955

Format: Test Piece Contest
Test Piece: The Joy of Youth
Adjudicators: Harry Heyes
Venue: Oxford Town Hall, Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, UK

Position Band Conductor Draw Points
1 Dannemora Steel Works Eric Foster 6 184
2 Stroud District Ellis Williams 11 182
3 Bedworth Silver H. A. Smith 15 181
City of Gloucester Junior George Beckingham 1
City of Leicester S.P R. Jackson 2
Ramsey Town Silver S. C. Shadbolt 3
Woodstock Town W. E. Brooks 4
Gloucester City British Legion Osman Adlam 5
Sharnford Silver Ernest Cooper 7
A.M.C. Instrumental Michael Sharp 8
Wroughton Silver Fred Richards 9
Severn Tunnel & District F. C. Harding 10
Newport Pagnell Town J. L. Williams 12
Nailsworth & Horsley J. J. Cook 13
Bilton Silver A. E. Lack 14
Witney Town Jim Alder 16
Ravensthorpe Subscription F. Haigh 17
Thatcham & District Silver A. G. Mason 18
Highworth Silver G. H. Watts 19
Cholsey Silver Unknown 20
Chipping Norton Silver C. S. A. Knight 21
Chinnor Silver Don Lewis 22
Glastonbury Town S.P. W. R. Phillips 23
W Atherstone Miners Welfare
W Berry Hill Silver
W Tadley Silver

Eighth Annual Contest organised By City of Oxford Silver Band.

Cornet medal: Stroud District
Euphonium medal: Dannemora Steel Works

Three separate original programmes have three substantially different versions of the draw. The one given here (from a programme owned by the contest organiser) is the only one of the three not to contain obvious inconsistencies.

Printed from https://brassbandresults.co.uk/